Carpathian Summer School of Physics 2007

Sinaia, Romania, August 20th-31st, 2007

"Horia Hulubei" National Institute for Physics and Nuclear Engineering, Bucharest, Romania
Cyclotron Institute, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA


Romanian National Authority for Scientific Research / Autoritatea Nationala pentru Cercetare Stiintifica - Bucharest, Romania

Exotic Nuclei and Nuclear/Particle Astrophysics (II)


 Structure of Exotic nuclei
 Exotic Matter and Decays
 Phase Transitions in Hot Nuclei
 High Energy Cosmic Rays
 Nuclear Physics for Astrophysics
 Neutrino Physics
 Large Facilities

The school will take place at the Hotel International**** ( in Sinaia, a Romanian mountain resort about 130 km north of Bucharest, where most of the participants will also be accommodated.
In addition to the scientfic program, we intend to organize excursions and social events in order to create a nice atmosphere and to provide the participants with a flavor of the Romanian landscape and culture. Sinaia is in the Carpathians, close to the geographical center of the country, itself a prime tourist attraction and in close proximity to many first class natural and historical attractions of Romania. More and regularly updated information will be posted on this school website.

Please contact us via email - and/or

International Advisory Committee:

P. Biermann (Bonn), G.E. Brown (Stony Brook), R. Casten (Yale), H. Ejiri (Osaka), M. Harakeh (KVI), W. Haxton (Seattle), H. Rebel (Karlsruhe), C. Rolfs (Bochum), G. Sigl (Paris), J. Vary (Ames), M. Teshima (Munich), R.E. Tribble (Texas A&M), M. Wiescher (Notre Dame), A. Wolfendale (Durham), N.V. Zamfir (Bucharest)

Invited lecturers:

N. Auerbach* (Tel Aviv), D. Bazzacco* (Padova), S. Bettini (Padova), P. Biermann (Bonn), J. Blackmon* (Oak Ridge), A. Bonaccorso (Pisa), G.E. Brown* (Stony Brook), D. Bucurescu* (IFIN-HH), A. Bulgac (Seattle), F. Carstoiu (IFIN-HH), R. Casten* (Yale), D. Delion (IFIN-HH), C. Diaconu (Marseille), H. Ejiri (Osaka), B. Fields (Urbana), C.A. Gagliardi (Texas A&M), M. Gai (Avery Point), G. Giacomelli (Bologna), N. Grama (IFIN-HH), M. Hass (Rehovot), M. Harakeh (Groningen), J. Hardy (Texas A&M), S. Harissopulos (Athens), A. Haungs (Karlsruhe), M. Horoi (Mt. Pleasant), K-L Kratz (Mainz), S. Lenzi (Padova), S. Mioduszewski (Texas A&M), T. Motobayshi (Tokyo), J. Natowitz (Texas A&M), G. Navarra (Torino), A. Petrovici (IFIN-HH), M. Petrovici (IFIN-HH), D. Poenaru (IFIN-HH), H. Rebel (Karlsruhe), R. Rapp (Texas A&M), C. Rolfs (Bochum), H. Schatz (MSU), S. Shlomo (Texas A&M), M. Smith* (Oak Ridge), G. Sigl (Paris), C. Spiering* (Hamburg), C. Spitaleri (Catania), S. Stoica (IFIN-HH), J. Suhonen (Jyvaskyla), T. Sumijarvi (Orsay), K. Summerer* (GSI), X. Tang (Notre Dame), M. Teshima (Munich), L. Trache (Texas A&M), R. Tribble (Texas A&M), J. Vary (Ames), V.V. Voronov* (Dubna), A. Wolfendale (Durham), Y. Wong (Munich), G. Wrochna (Warsaw), S. Yennello* (Texas A&M), etc.
* not confirmed

Organizing Committee:

Sabin Stoica (IFIN-HH, Bucharest)
Livius Trache (Texas A&M)

Scientific secretaries:
Iliana Brancus (IFIN-HH, Bucharest), Florin Carstoiu (IFIN-HH, Bucharest)
Members: Adriana Banu (Texas A&M), Mihai Horoi (Central Michigan Univ), Florin Negoita (IFIN-HH), Mircea Rusu (Univ of Bucharest), Corina Simion (IFIN-HH)
Webmaster: Gabriel Tabacaru (Texas A&M), Eduard Pauna (IFIN-HH, Bucharest )

Dr. S. Stoica, IFIN-HH Bucharest, phone: +40 21 404 2388, fax: +40 21 457 4440
Dr. L. Trache, Cyclotron Institute, Texas A&M University, phone: +1 979 845 1411, fax: +1 979 845 1899

About background